Canon Photography Awards This Sunday 10th May


canon photographyThis Sunday 9 photographers will walk away with 1.1 million at the 2015 Canon Kenya Photography awards. 43 photographers were last week nominated as finalists. There are nine different categories: News, Creative, Sports, Nature, Portraiture, Daily Life, Young photographer of the year, Special category (Climate Change), and People’s Choice. The winners will take home Ksh. 1.1 million.

The awards seek to reward excellence, promote, and improve photography standards in Kenya. The Winners will be announced at an awards gala night on May 10th, 2015. The awards are organized by PAWA 254 and the Photographers Association of Kenya (PAK). The awards are sponsored by Canon and the Swiss Embassy is one of the key partners/sponsors of the awards.

The 43 were nominated following a rigorous judging process by four judges in the photography industry. The judging was led by Gary Knight, a British photographer who is a past chairman of World Press Photo Awards.

“This year, we have seen rise in number of entries from young photographers, some taken from the simple smartphones to the ones taken with high-end professional cameras. This shows that we have so much potential growth in the Kenya photography industry.” Njeri Mwangi, Organizing Secretary, Photographer’s Association of Kenya (PAK).

She added: “The quality of entries from professional photographers was not as good and after the awards ceremony we shall start master class trainings for photographers to sharpen their skills.”

There is a category For the People’s Choice category and people are requested to vote for their favourite photo entries at (

The following are nominees in the nine different categories:

o Suleiman Mbatiah Maina
o Gerald Anderson
o Thomas Mukoya Abuoga
o Humphrey Emmanuel Odero
o Chacha Baru Musya

Daily life
o Alice Oldenburg
o Humphrey Emmanuel Odero
o Nick Mutinda Mutuku
o Larry Asego
o Thomas Mukoya Abuoga
o Charles Kevin Kallombo

o Stafford Ondego Ondego
o Peter Ndung’u Kamau
o Larry Asego
o Thomas Mukoya Abuoga
o Stephen Mudiari Kasabuli
o Brian Ayieko Otieno
o David Kihara Njuguna

Special category (Climate Change)
o Peter Irungu
o Sushil Prafil Chauhan
o Allan Kimani Muturi
o John Wambugu

o Alice Oldenburg
o Larry Asego
o Victor Peace Karanja
o Sushil Praful Chauhan
o Alloys Maigo Iteba

o Joseph Mbugua Chege
o Joseph Kyule Kiio
o Larry Asego
o Peter Ndung’u Kamau
o Matthew Moturi Moranga

o Jared Gichohi Maina
o Pranav Chadha
o Patrick Wambu Wainana
o Mutua Matheka
o Peter Irungu
o Siegmund Kamau Muhuri
o James Otieno Onyango

Young photographer of the year
o Jared Gichohi
o Ranav Chadha
o Joseph Mbugua
o Sigmund Kamau

Facebook Comments