Safaricom Appoints 2 New Directors

L-R, John Tombleson (Chief Financial Officer), Bob Collymore (CEO – Safaricom Ltd)

Safaricom has appointed 2 new directors as part of its strategy to enhance shareholder value. Mohamed Shameel Aziz Joosub and Linda Watiri Muriuki join the board as Non-Executive Directors, effective immediately.  The appointments were made following a Safaricom Board of Directors meeting yesterday. The changes are part of the company’s moves to embrace a more diversified board.

“We continue to place a keen focus on building an inclusive board that can both meet the evolving needs of our business, and which takes into account the recent changes in our shareholding structure. Both directors bring with them a wealth of expertise in creating world-class mobile companies in both Europe and Africa,” said Nicholas Ng’ang’a, Chairman, Safaricom.

Safaricom will be holding its Annual General Meeting on Friday 15th September, at the Bomas of Kenya.

Recently Vodafone Group transferred 35% of its indirect interest in Safaricom to its sub-Saharan African subsidiary Vodacom Group Limited. The new shareholding reflects the interests of the new shareholding structure. Mr. Joosub is the current Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of Vodacom Group as well as the Chairman of the Vodacom Group Executive Committee & Vodacom (Pty) Limited.

Ms. Muriuki is the Senior Partner at LJA Associates, where she is a practising Advocate of the High Court of Kenya. She has over 27 years of experience and has previously served as a Non-Executive Director of Old Mutual Life Assurance Company Limited and the Capital Markets Authority. She currently serves as a Non-Executive Director of East Africa Reinsurance Company Limited.

Gianluca Ventura who was a substantive Director of the Company resigned and he will now act as an Alternate Director to Vivek Badrinath.  Till Streichert, the current Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and Executive Director of Vodacom Group, has been appointed as Alternate Director to Mr. Moosub. Mr. Streichert is also a Member of the Vodacom Group Executive Committee and is a Non-executive Director of Vodacom SA.

Facebook Comments